Gunnar Peipman's ASP.NET blog

ASP.NET, C#, SharePoint, SQL Server and general software development topics.

Sponsors

News

 
 
 
DZone MVB

Links

Social

The changes you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created

When changing tables in SQL Server Management Studio 2008 you may get the following error: Saving changes is not permitted. The changes you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created. I was surprised when I saw this message first but there is very simple solution.

 

NB! This blog is moved to gunnarpeipman.com

Click here to go to article

Comments

mxmissile said:

Don't try this on a table that contains millions of records or a live database.

# April 8, 2009 1:01 PM

Felipe Lima said:

Thanks for the info. Certainly this should be only done during development phase in an empty table.

# June 9, 2009 1:56 PM

Sac said:

Thank you very much.

# July 17, 2009 8:16 AM

Raziq said:

Thanks, I've been facing this problem quite a lot

# April 17, 2010 10:43 AM

Moshe Dubman said:

Thank you. I was just about to drop all my DB tables and try to create the whole DB from scratch ....saved my life!

# June 30, 2010 6:57 AM

Ashwini said:

Thank you very much.Solved my problem.

# September 1, 2010 5:54 AM

Blair said:

You saved my from blowing a deadline on an active directory project with 25,000 users! Thank you so much for taking a moment to share.

# September 5, 2010 5:41 PM

Andy said:

I've read similar posts on a dozen different websites, but none are addressing the most important concern.

I need to add a column to a table contain a few million rows.  After testing this solution on a test database, I find that it only takes about 30 seconds to complete; not a big deal.

So is this safe to do on a production table after hours?

Is there any risk of losing data of any kind (table data, constraints, stats, indexes)?

I guess I don't understand why MS locks you out in the first place.   Is it solely because of the potential of hanging a production database for a long period of time (because its such an extensive operation)?

Thanks for any insight!

# September 13, 2010 5:16 PM

DigiMortal said:

Thanks for question, Andy. There is reason why MS locks this feature by default. Re-creating large tables may take more time than couple of seconds, it may take even hours to make change like this on large tables. The way how Management Studio performs this operation is very costy.

# September 14, 2010 5:18 AM

Andy said:

So it has nothing to do with data loss, purely a consideration because of the intensity of the operation?

# September 20, 2010 12:56 PM

DigiMortal said:

This far I have done this operation without data losses. If tables are large then it may take long hours to recreate them and fill with data again.

# September 20, 2010 4:42 PM

bitcode said:

thanks for the information, that is very helpful one.. cheers!!!

# September 23, 2010 8:30 PM

Arun Prasad said:

Thanks a lot. Saved me my day. I underwent the pain of dropping and re-creating the entire DB (development) a week earlier. Whew!!! An intimation along the "Save Cancelled" dialog box would have been a better option. Seems Microsoft had left its SQL users running helter-skelter by hiding such control info. Also makes an impression that Microsoft's curve bends low towards user-friendliness and goes soaring towards sophistication. While it seems good, not to forget the huge base of confused users left behind.

# December 15, 2010 6:58 AM

nccsbim071 said:

Thank you very much. I was facing this problem since a long time. Your blog post solved it.

# January 22, 2011 6:37 AM

rene said:

thanks! i thought it was a server setting!

# February 18, 2011 2:26 PM

classicboyir said:

Thanks a lot

# April 20, 2011 6:01 AM

Konna said:

good info... thanx

# September 1, 2011 11:29 PM

SS said:

Thank you so much!!!saved my time..:)

# November 12, 2011 2:20 PM

Tommy said:

Thanks... hate MS so much.. forced to work with this terrible DBMS for my current project.

# January 11, 2012 7:28 AM